Homemade Pizzas-Once you make just one there is no turning back!

Homemade Pizza:

006

This year I gave up bread for Lent, (and no I was not at all quiet or humble about it, lol). I LOVE all things bread and baked goods, so this was a hard one for me. The good thing, however, that came out of this fast was a new love for baking. Fortunately another fellow Army Wife was kind enough to pass down her homemade bread recipe. Once I figured out how much healthier and easier it was to cook my own bread, I thought I’d take it to the next level and make my own Pizza crust. And what’s better than bread topped with cheese and other tasty things?? Here is a few pictures of two pizzas I made recently along with recipe for crust…

Homemade Pizza Crust:
1 cup luke warm water
2 packets active dry yeast
3 cups flour (I use Ultragrain white whole wheat -more super grain nutrients in it than traditional whole wheat 😉
1 ½ tbls wheat gluten-Only if you’re using the Ultragrain flour

2tbls olive oil
2 tbls sugar
¼ tbls salt

Mix your dry ingredients together.  Then add your water and oil and mix throughouly, once you can form it into a ball, take out the bowl and lay on a floured surface and knead until all air pockets are gone and the dough is smooth, (note-sprinkle extra flour onto your dough ball if texture is too sticky.  Then place back in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with Seran wrap and let rise to about double in size (about an hour), Then take dough and flatten out into your pan. I use a cookie sheet with deeper sides to make more of a deep dish style. Then brush with olive oil and a little dash of salt.

The crust is really that simple and easy! I plan to add a few extra things into the dough next time like some herbs and possibly some roasted garlic. As for pizza toppings? The choice is yours…and who doesn’t like creating their own pizza combination? I used a pesto sauce with the one pictured above, and plan to make a yummy bbq one next time. Oh and bake at 375 for 15 minutes.

Pizza Supreme I made recently…

017

Started by chopping up my veggies, (Fresh garlic, mushroom, red and green bell pepper, white, and red onion.

In my baking pan I started to flatten out my dough. Paying special attention to the sides of the pan so I could get a deep dish effect.

014

Sautéed my veggies up juuuust enough to get them lightly coated in oil. I find that it gives the crust a better texture too once they bake into it.

018

Layered my pizza as follows: Spread about 1 cup marinara (I always make impromptu marina-tomato pastes, sauce, and add tbls of fresh Italian herbs, I tsp sugar, and a little EVOO, and red wine…then cook down) Then sprinkled 1 cup mozzarella. Then topped with veggies, ground up Turkey sausage and Turkey Pepperoni, then added one more cup of Mozzarella on top.

020

Baked this one for 18 minutes at 375…No after pic as I was rushing out the door to bring it a pot luck at my husbands school 🙂 However, here is the after pic for my next pizza recipe:

006

Chicken, Carmelized Onion, and Pesto Pizza:

Dice up about 1.25 lbs chicken breast. In separate pan cook up about one red onion, 7 cloves of garlic, 2 cups shiitake mushroom, and 2-3 cups fresh spinach. Cook down until ingredients caramelize. Brush your Pizza with pesto and EVOO, then layer with one cup shredded mozzarella, chicken, caramelized veggies, then top once more with 1 cup fresh Parmesan. Seriously good stuff!

484758_10151365892787989_1479572668_n

Tee hee…it’s been known to happen 😉

Leave a Reply

