A few of my new favorite ingredients in the kitchen…

Here are a few new items that made their way into my kitchen recently for various reasons.

Grapeseed oil: Same health benefits of cooking with Olive or Canola Oil, but a much milder flavor, which is perfect for sauteing foods like veggies, etc.  Oh and pretty much same price as EVOO.

023

Gourmet Garden Brand of fresh Herbs: I LOVE all their flavors, but since I cook a lot of Italian I buy this one the most. They also sell a Ginger one that I love to add into any of my Asian flavored dishes. I have not broken into the world of growing my own herbs yet, (next culinary venture 😉 But until then, these fresh herb and produce pastes do the trick. It’s hard to like the flavor of traditional dried herbs after using these. Worth the extra few $$’s at the checkout 😉

024

Maries Blue Cheese Vinaigrette: Okay I’m pretty much obsessed with this one. While I like to make a lot of my own marinades and dressings, I have to admit this is a close second to the real deal. The most processed ingredients in this bottle is Xanthum Gum and last time I checked, that was an okay thing  🙂  Anywho, when you don’t have the time to whip up your own dressing, trust me on this one. I’m not normally a Blue Cheese fan but I am telling you…this a a divine dressing!

029

Here is a pic and recipe of the Salmon Salad I love to make with it…

Salmon, Jicama, Blue Cheese Vinaigrette Salad:

Cook up your Salmon in a pan with a little bit of oil. Brush with BBQ sauce, (desired amount). Meanwhile prepare a bed of Mesculin Greens, diced cucumber, cherry tomatoes, Jicama, Red Onion, and Mushroom. Serve Salmon on top and dress with Maries Blue Cheese Vinagrette. This is our easy salad night recipe.

003

Leave a Reply

