Ground Chicken Spring Rolls

Image

I gotta say I’m getting better that the whole homemade spring roll deal. Such a tasty, healthy, and fun way to make dinner! Here is a breakdown:
1.25 lb Ground Chicken (Ive cooked them with Salmon too, but ground chicken has better texture if you ask me :))
5 garlic cloves
One red onion
1 Red Bell pepper
1 package bean sprouts
1/3 of a small head of Red cabbage
Rice Vinegar
Canola oil
Low sodium soy sauce
Cook up your chicken in separate pan. I use a potato masher to ground it up even finer once its cooked. You don’t want big chunks of food in your rolls šŸ˜‰
In a separate pan cook up all your veggies. I start by getting a splash of your oil really hot, then add in all the veggies, garlic first. Make sure your veggies are cute up super fine. Once veggies get crisp, add in about 2 tbls of rice vinegar and pour in a generous amount of low sodium soy sauce (Eyeball 2tbls or so, this is really a taste preference. I don’t like much soy sauce on my food, I like to taste the veggies and believe soy sauce should compliment flavor, not mask it). Cook veggies down in liquid for another 5 minutes or so.
Then once everything is cooked combine all ingredients and lay out on a cookie sheet. The goal is to let the ingredients cool to make for easier rolling. That and increases chance of your ingredients staying in the roll when you fry it in the pan.
I use the Lumpia wrapper rolls found in the freezer section. They have 20 calories per sheet, 4 grams of carbs, and no sodium. My best suggestion is allow them to thaw for about an hour before you start your rolls. Once they start to thaw too much its dang near impossible to peel them off without ripping them :/ This has been my biggest challenge so far.
I didn’t get a pic of actually rolling up the spring rolls, but there are plenty of tutorials online to help with that šŸ™‚ fyi, I put about 2-3 tbls of mixture into each roll. I load mine with more ingredients so I only eat about 3-4 rolls as opposed to 5, haha!
Oh and before you begin to roll them up, create on the side a small amount of corn starch slurry on the side. This is what you’ll use to seal the spring rolls shut. ps…a little bit of this goes a long way. A little dab L’ do ya šŸ˜‰
I recommend getting all of your rolls together before you cook them. At first I would roll five at a time then cook them, then rush to roll the next 5 in order to keep pan from getting too hot, (these cook VERY quickly once in hot pan, because the lumpia paper is so thin), so I’ve learned that its best to get all your rolls in order before you cook them šŸ˜‰ I don’t know about you but when I’m cooking stuff quickly in a hot pan I get super flustered so less stress is best when I’m dealing with hot oil, lol!
Oh and before you begin to roll them up, create a small amount of corn starch slurry on the side (dash of corn starch/dash of water then mix into paste). This is what you’ll use to seal the spring rolls shut. ps…a little bit of this goes a long way. A little dab L’ do ya šŸ˜‰
So, as for amount of oil in the pan, that is up to you. I use very little because I try and keep these as lean as possible. I really just coat the pan with oil, then turn these bad boys just seconds after I start cooking them. They really do cook up that fast so be sure to pay close attention to how much time you allow them to cook. I only load up about 5 spring rolls into the pan at a time. You want to allow yourself enough space to get your tongs in there to properly turn them šŸ˜‰
After they cool I lay them to drain on paper towels to pick up excess oil. Garnish with green onions and serve with your favorite dipping sauce. I personally like sweet chili sauce and Siracha šŸ™‚
So there is my version of yummy, tasty, homemade spring rolls. We love them. Even Maddy had seconds! PS, this always leaves us with leftovers too. This is in the hubby’s lunch box today šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

