Steak Wrapped Asparagus

Image

This is one I just came up with the other night. I don’t buy red meat often but when I see a good deal, I go for it. It turned out pretty good, there are some things I’d change for the next go around but I’ll be sure to write the recipe how I intend to cook it next time.

Ingredients:

-2lbs sirloin. I sliced them thin then beat them down to flatten them out. Placed them in a Pyrex dish and marinate with chopped garlic, Worcestershire, low sodium soy sauce, olive oil and s+p.

1 cup sun dried tomatoes

1/2 package of Portabello mushrooms.

1 stalk of asparagus. The thinner the better.

1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Don’t start cooking until you  have allowed the steaks to marinate for several hours.

Start by chopping up your veggies (Mince up mushroom, sun dried tomato, and garlic but only cut Asparagus in half)  and get a pan of Grapseed or EVOO oil heated up.

Image

Cook up your garlic, mushroom, and sun dried tomatoes in one pan and saute up your Asparagus in another. Once they are about %75 cooked, begin to roll them up into your steaks. Before you roll completely top with about a tbls of Parmesan for each roll

Image then add about 4-5 half stalks of asparagus and roll em up! (fyi-Do not be alarmed at the one I rolled up with like 10 asparagus, haha, I was super hungry that night and once I realized we weren’t going to be serving it with Pasta I panicked and was all about loading up on my veggies! But, really stick with 4-5 because it has so much more flavor and is easier to cut with a knife)  Be sure to toothpick each one at least twice. Then lay over on a baking pan that has been sprayed with some kind of canola or olive oil

007

Once they are complete bake at 375 for 20 minutes. You can also cook these in a pan, but baking for me is easier and leaner.

You can eat these as is, or serve them with a side of pasta. We were going to serve them with Pasta the other night, but were trying to limit our carb intake that night due to a “weigh in” for my husband the following day, haha, gotta love the Army 😉 But, if I were to serve it with a side of pasta I would do something light. Angel hair tossed with EVOO, garlic, Parmesan, and s+p.

Another thing I want to try with this is eliminating the sun dried tomatoes/Parmesan and replacing with red onion/freshly grated ginger and serving over a jasmine rice. The steak/ Asparagus combination could really be served either way 🙂 Oh and be sure to drizzled any marinade that has cooked out over the pan over top your steak once its done cooking. It gives it that right amount of juiciness right when you bite in~

Leave a Reply

