Taco Soup

530657_10151477363670228_1478460624_nSo this recipe is special to me for a variety of reasons. One being, it was introduced to us by our dear neighbors when we lived back at Ft. Lewis, after I gave birth to my firstborn, Madison. My dear friend, Natalie was kind enough to prepare it for me so me and the hubby didn’t have to worry about making dinner one night. The minute I took a bite, I was hooked! I think we had like 4 bowls that night, haha, it was THAT amazing. Another reason being, is that same dear friend is the one that encouraged me to start this blog. So thank you Mrs. Thomas for not only motivating me to create this blog but for passing down such an amazing recipe! There are a few things I have added that I’ll note in the recipe itself. Trust me on this one folks once you make it the first time it wont be the last. It is perfect for game days, potlucks, and having mulitple guests over. Here is goes…

Ingredients for Taco Soup:

-1 lb pulled chicken
-1 small white onion chopped
-1 small red onion chopped-my addition

-1/2 red bell pepper finely chopped-my addition

-1 fresh jalapeno finely chopped-my addition
-1 (16 ounce) can black bean-low sodium-my addition
-1 (15 ounce) Dark red Kidney bean-low sodium
-1/2 can of chili beans
-1 (15 ounce) can of whole kernel corn
-1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
-1 cup water
-1 (14.5 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes
-1 (4 ounce) can diced green chili peppers
-1 (1.25 ounce) packet of taco seasoning-McCormicks low sodium

Directions:

– Poach your chicken in boiling water with a splash of vinegar for 10 minutes then take off the stove and let sit in the hot water for another 15 minutes. Then pull your chicken off the bone. I personally just used boneless skinless breast.
-Place all of your ingredients in the slowcooker. Mix all the ingredients thoroughly. Cook on low for 8 hours or if you are in a bit of a rush you can cook it on high for the first 4 hours then low the next two.

Its really that simple and it is absolutely DELISH and healthy! Personally I used low sodium black and kidney beans as well as the McCormick low sodium taco seasoning packet. Trust me it had plenty of salt flavor!

Also, I love to put a dollop of low fat sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, and crushed blue corn tortilla chips on top.

Enjoy!!

One thought on “Taco Soup

Leave a Reply

