Finally. New Knives!

Image

So after years of cutting with dull and boring knives I  decided it was time to upgrade to something a lot more sharp and a lot less, “conventional” looking. I came across the Pure Komachi 2 set on Amazon and was blown away by their low price for the set. The ratings were superb and the lowest  someone gave out of 115 reviews was a 3 out of 5. For an Amazon savvy shopper like me that says a lot 😉 I had also heard about these knives before and the durability of them so I figured it was only a sign that my internet browser brought me back to them. What I love the most? (aside from the razor like sharpness and colors of the blades!) Is the color coding system which prevents cross contamination. The acrylic block design isn’t anything to write home about, but I love that it shows off the color of this playful cutlery set and makes for easy cleanup. Ever wonder what kind of crud gets stuck down in the bottom of wooden knife blocks? With this I need not worry about that because of the open design that guards against bacteria growth. While I have only cut a few items so far with this set, they have proven to be sharper than anything I’ve ever cut with. Here is what is included in this set:

  • piece knife set includes 8-inch chef’s, 8-inch bread, 6-1/2-inch Chef, 4-inch tomato/cheese, and 4-inch citrus
  • Also includes 3-1/2-inch paring, 6-inch utility, 5-3/4-inch sandwich/bagel, and acrylic storage block

003

These knives are made with a high carbon stainless steel coating so you will find the sharpness on these will last a heck of a lot longer and make for easier food preparation-they slice through vegetables and potatoes like butter! Note: Because they are so sharp and lightweight cut with caution the first few times. I’ve almost nicked myself a few times but am quickly getting used to them.

Oh and one more thing, even though it says they are, “dishwasher safe”, try your best to hand wash then dry immediately. From what I’ve read you will get a lot more life out of these if you do.

What about steak knives you ask? Well I picked up the “J.A. Henckels International Stainless Steel 8-Piece Steak Knife Set”. I haven’t cut through a piece of steak yet with them, but the corrosion-resistant, stainless steel serrated edges (which by the way NEVER need to be re-sharpened), look like there is no cut of meat they won’t be able to handle. Not to mention they are very eye-catching!

So there is my “rave” on the latest  addition to my kitchen counter tops. If you end up getting a set please leave a review here. I’d love to know how they’ve worked out for you! I have a feeling these will be my new “BFF’s”  in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

